Removing Old Labels?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ol Tex

Junior
Reaction score
I'm sure this has been discussed, but as a newbie I'm gonna ask. What's the easiest way to remove labels from wine bottles? I have friends and family saving their bottles for me so I can recycle them and fill with my homemade wines. (I know they're wanting a bottle or two in return..LOL)
Right now, I have some soaking in 10% bleach/hot water solution. Is there a better way? Thanks in advance!
John

Fill the tub, laundry sink or large container with water, add oxy clean and let soak over night. find a plastic scaper of some kind and have fun. Some lables will fall off others will take a little work. A word of warning, if the lables fall off do not leave them on the floor. They are much harder to scrape off the floor.
smiley36.gif

I soak in plain hot water and use a paint scraper with a new razor blade....try to get under the hot glue and scrape around the bottle, not up and down.

Works for me....

Tub full of hot water and Oxyclean(Walmart Sun Brand). Straight A cleanser works better though.
Bottles.jpg

NW, I bet that a razor scraper works well.

Wade, Is the J and J no tears shampoo for you or the kids.

and a small scotch brite type scrubbing pad will help to take off the residual glue left on the bottles. Trust me on this one...................... They work great. Soak your bottles for a day or two in h20 or h20 with oxyclean and then strip your labels off with the plastic dish scraper mentioned above. Then take your scotch bright pad and rub out the remaining glue. All thats left is to rinse, scrub and sanitize before bottling.....