Fermented dry

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phaz3

Junior
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

My mead (Ancient Orange) has cleared and finished fermenting and it is quite dry.
I guess my questions is, What is the best method to sweeten it again?

P.s. This is my first Ferment of anything so I am still learning the ropes.
Its a 1 gallon batch(5 litres)
I used 4 Kg of Honey at the start
OG: 1.260
FG: .990

Hi Guys,

My mead (Ancient Orange) has cleared and finished fermenting and it is quite dry.
I guess my questions is, What is the best method to sweeten it again?

P.s. This is my first Ferment of anything so I am still learning the ropes.
Its a 1 gallon batch(5 litres)
I used 4 Kg of Honey at the start
OG: 1.260
FG: .990

4 Kg of Honey is 8.8 lbs. Is this correct? Did you use the bakers yeast? I used 3.5 lbs of honey and started with a sg of 1.15 and could only ferment to 1.042. Just curious as I'm going to try another batch but didn't want it as sweet as the first batch.

None of this makes sense. 5liters is about 1.25 gallons, and 4kg is indeed 8.8lbs of honey.
with those numbers you probably did get an OG fo 1.260, which no yeast would be able to ferment.

please recheck all your facts and repost. Something here doesn't add up at all.

Ooops I am very sorry :(the OG is 1.125 To many numbers in my head last night. also I Do have a 5 litre demijohn that I am using so yes it would be 1.125 us gallon I was thinking more Imperial gallon. it is definitely 5 litres.

4kg of Unprocessed Honey from Western australia
I also pitched the Yeast twice which I think is the problem
Yeast: Vinters Harvest SN9 Yeast

I dont believe pitching the yeast twice would cause it to ferment any more than pitching it once. yeast dont work that way. However, in a pinch you can boil some yeast and use it as nutrient *:)