Plum Wine - First try

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

koko65

Onno
Reaction score
Hello All.
I am new to wine making and have yet to bottle my first kit. The kits seem straight forward enough and I have been in the food industry since '79 so I have a good idea about cleanliness and recipes.
I reviewed about 20lbs of plums from a neighbour and decided to try a plum wine. I found a recipe I liked over the web and had at it. I scaled the recipe to make 12 L of wine. When I added everything into the primary I goofed and added all 12L of water instead of up to the 12L mark. This ended up filling the primary near the 23L mark. I added all the plums I had to compensate for the excess water and increased the sugar till a SG. of 1085 was reached. I tasted the mix it does taste like good juice, though sweet.
My question is that I also doubled the yeast to two packets. Will this affect the final wine or just speed up the fermentation process? Will in need to increase the sulfites to stabilize the wine?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Onno

Adding the second packet of yeast will not harm your wine at all as it will all fall out. The bigger the batch the more sulfites and sorbate will be needed. Is it done fermenting? Whats the sg now? Do not add any of the sulfites or sorbate until the wine is done fermenting.

My question is that I also doubled the yeast to two packets. Will this affect the final wine or just speed up the fermentation process?

No it will not.
Yeast is a living organism and will multiply under good conditions
just like any organism.
So when you put 1 sachet of yeast in after an hour it will have doubled, after tw0 hours quadrupled etc etc etc .
There is off course a limit to the amount of yeast that can line in a cl juice but that is several millions.