Packlab Looking for a good semi-sweet Riseling kit

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wildcat2013

Junior
Reaction score
I'm a newbie to wine making and I just finished my first kit. I made a Tropical Riesling from Cornucopia and although it came out good, I'm not crazy about the tropical flavor. I'm looking for a kit that is more of a true Riesling.

My favorite commercial Rieslings are Blufeld and a semi-sweet Schmitt Sohne. Does anybody have a recommendation for a wine kit that would be comparable to these?

I have never had the commerical brands. But if you want an off-dry less expensive Riesling - I would suggest the Wine Expert brand - World Vineyard Washington Riesling. If you want to try a premium brand WE has Selection International - Austrailian Traminer-Riesling. I have had good luck with tehe World Vineyard series - never tried the Selection International

I just cleared a Winexpert Eclipse Riesling. Even at the young age, it compares favorably to a Washington state Columbia Crest riesling. It is off-dry, not very sweet at all. It is quite expensive. My local lhbs tells me for the money, the Winexpert World vineyard is quite good.
Haven't had experience with any other kit Rieslings or the commercial brands you mentioned. I am not a Riesling expert by any means.:h
By the way I have made the Cornucopia Tropical Riesling twice for my wife. It was her favorite until I made the WE Peach Apricot Chardonnay.

Last edited:
I have a very nice off-dry Australian Traminer-Riesling from the Wine Expert Selection International Series sitting in my wine rack. From what you are saying, I think this is just what you want. It comes with a small flavor pack that gives it just a hint of semi-sweetness, and it has a beautiful golden color. It is very good!