Register Now!

Wine Making & Grape Growing Forum > Wine Making > Meads > First two batches of mead started

Old 07-18-2016, 06:45 AM   #1
Spikedlemon

Feb 2016
Liked 57 Times on 44 Posts
Likes Given: 37

One 3 gal batch:
4kg Honey (whatever style was on the shelf)
1-1/3 cup raisins
2 oranges
1tsp tannin
EC1118 (w/ nutrients & energiser)

One 4L batch: (http://www.stormthecastle.com/mead/f...ead-making.htm)
1kg Honey (same as above)
1 orange
1 handful raisins
Bread yeast
... fermenting in the 4L water jug with balloon for an airlock.

Both fermenting well on day 1.

Old 07-18-2016, 06:55 AM   #2
Spikedlemon

Feb 2016

This is my first time making mead. It was quite an eye opener that most mead recipes are designed for 14-18% ABV while most mead that I've had in the past is closer to 5-8% ABV. I had thought mead was closer to beer than wine.

The small batch I thought would be just for fun. I'd set it and forget it for two months before I pull it out to taste. I figure if it turns out decent that I could use it to convince others, who wouldn't normally consider making their own, to make a batch and join some fun.
Also: it'd be a cheap way to make quite a few batches and experiment on flavor/adders.
I'm doing no measurement of SG or otherwise. Just letting it go.

The larger batch is really just an extension of the first but making it a little bit cleaner with a better yeast. OG: 1.120 so I figure I'll be around the 16% mark when done.

Old 08-02-2016, 10:33 AM   #3
Spikedlemon

Feb 2016

After watching it for the past few days: I'm finally down to 1.010 on the EC1118 batch so I racked to secondary.

I was quite a bit shy of the 3gal mark (which was odd considering that I used the same bucket line for the 3gal batch of lemon wine) and I suspect that my next racking will be into two 1gal bottles rather than leaving it in the 3gal carboy.

Smells pretty alcoholic at this point but, munching on the raisins after racking, something certainly tastes good.