Register Now!

Wine Making & Grape Growing Forum > Wine Making > General Wine Making Forum > When making wine in a barrel, do you need an additional barrel for racking?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-29-2013, 12:05 PM   #1
abefroman
Senior Member
 
abefroman's Avatar
 
Oct 2010
Posts: 768
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 8



When making wine in a barrel, do you need an additional barrel for racking?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:16 PM   #2
lawrstin
Senior Member
 
lawrstin's Avatar
 
Jun 2013
Posts: 182
Liked 21 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 2


Yes, the term racking means transferring the wine off the lees (sediment) from vessel one vessel to another. Just curious what you are trying to do?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:21 PM   #3
Thig
 
Thig's Avatar
 
Sep 2012
Posts: 1,004
Liked 199 Times on 135 Posts
Likes Given: 19


Quote:
Originally Posted by abefroman View Post
When making wine in a barrel, do you need an additional barrel for racking?
Wouldn't most people put the wine in a barrel only after it has been racked a couple of time to get most of the sediment out. Are you starting it off in a barrel?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:26 PM   #4
Arne
Senior Member
 
Jun 2010
Posts: 4,505
Liked 762 Times on 616 Posts
Likes Given: 283


If you are starting it in there, you could rack it to another container of some kind (bucket, carboy or whatever) clean the barrel out and rack it back in. Arne.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:28 PM   #5
Rocky
Chronologically Gifted Member
 
Rocky's Avatar
 
Jan 2011
Posts: 5,668
Liked 1601 Times on 851 Posts
Likes Given: 644


I might be missing something here but I believe there is no problem in racking from a barrel into a carboy, cleaning our the barrel and moving the wine back to the barrel.
__________________
Trying to reason with a woman is like reading those software agreements you see online. You just go through them quickly and hit, "I agree." Rocky

abefroman Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:29 PM   #6
JohnT
Moderator
WMT_MODERATOR.png
 
JohnT's Avatar
 
Feb 2010
Posts: 9,059
Liked 4150 Times on 2323 Posts
Likes Given: 3119


Thig,

The answer is NO, you do not need an additional barrel.

If you need to rack, Just rack (initially) into your clean/empty primary fermentor, clean the barrel, then rack back from the primary into your clean barrel.

Barrels are expensive and need to be soaked prior to use. You will also have the issue of storring an empty barrel for an extended period of time.
__________________
Good friends, go in, and taste some wine with me; And we, like friends, will straightway go together (Julius Caesar, Act 2, Scene 2)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:30 PM   #7
Rocky
Chronologically Gifted Member
 
Rocky's Avatar
 
Jan 2011
Posts: 5,668
Liked 1601 Times on 851 Posts
Likes Given: 644


Arne & John, just goes to prove that great minds think alike!
__________________
Trying to reason with a woman is like reading those software agreements you see online. You just go through them quickly and hit, "I agree." Rocky

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:33 PM   #8
Thig
 
Thig's Avatar
 
Sep 2012
Posts: 1,004
Liked 199 Times on 135 Posts
Likes Given: 19


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnT View Post
Thig,

The answer is NO, you do not need an additional barrel.

If you need to rack, Just rack (initially) into your clean/empty primary fermentor, clean the barrel, then rack back from the primary into your clean barrel.

Barrels are expensive and need to be soaked prior to use. You will also have the issue of storring an empty barrel for an extended period of time.
John, thanks for the reply but I was not the one that posted the question.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 01:35 PM   #9
Gwand
Junior Member
 
Gwand's Avatar
 
Aug 2013
Posts: 328
Liked 141 Times on 78 Posts
Likes Given: 288


When bulk aging wine in a barrel does one fill the barrel all the way up to push out the air? Do you have to top it off after you sample periodically?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:42 PM   #10
Rocky
Chronologically Gifted Member
 
Rocky's Avatar
 
Jan 2011
Posts: 5,668
Liked 1601 Times on 851 Posts
Likes Given: 644


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwand View Post
When bulk aging wine in a barrel does one fill the barrel all the way up to push out the air? Do you have to top it off after you sample periodically?
I currently have two barrels. I have seasoned them and they do not leak. I named them "Anthony" and "John" after my Grandsons so I could keep track of what I had in them. Currently, Anthony is filled with Valpolicella and John has k-meta solution in it but will soon have a Carmenere. I try to keep them "topped off" as much as possible. People talk about the "Angels' share" but I think I have more Angels in John than I do in Anthony! I also have bungs with airlocks on the barrels and I can see the effect of changes in barometric pressure in the airlocks. (BTW, the little barrel to the right is aging Rye Whiskey).
100_0533.jpg  
__________________
Trying to reason with a woman is like reading those software agreements you see online. You just go through them quickly and hit, "I agree." Rocky

soccer0ww Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Wine Making Forum Replies Last Post
How do barrel ferments affect the barrel aging schedule? Comet in TX Barrels & Oaking 8 04-30-2012 07:01 AM
When to barrel taste on a new barrel LtCellars Barrels & Oaking 4 10-25-2011 07:13 PM
Making of Wine barrel Savana123 Barrels & Oaking 0 11-19-2010 08:04 AM
Wine Barrel making on TV. myakkagldwngr Barrels & Oaking 1 05-28-2010 01:21 PM
wine barrel thunder2000 Barrels & Oaking 1 01-04-2007 01:33 PM


Forum Jump