copper fermentation barrel

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

copperpot

Junior
Reaction score
As you can tell I am new to this so here goes. Would it be OK to ferment in a copper drum?

As you can tell I am new to this so here goes. Would it be OK to ferment in a copper drum?

This is just my chemistry instinct jumping out, I'm sure someone else can say for sure, but unless the drum has some sort of protective lining on it, it probably would not be safe fermenting an acidic mixture in a copper container. Even household vinegar will corrode copper over time, and that process will leach copper ions into your must.

I believe Southern Chemist is hittin the nail pretty close to on the head. I know you can use a crock for the primary, but if you want to move it around, a crock filled with 5 or6 gal of wine is pretty heavy. Food grade buckets are pretty cheap, and lots of people here have managed to get some free ones by going to the local bakery and getting their used frosting buckets. Clean em out good and they are ready to use. Arne.

I am not recommending the use of copper vats for fermentation. Now here comes the big BUT. I know they were used for fermenting "mash" for making illegal alcohol during Prohibition. However, I don't know whether or not mash was acidic or alkaline (basic), nor do I know if the distilliation process would eliminate any harmful substances from the mash.

Yes they are Pete. But in order to distill people that do/did that sort of thing first have to ferment a mash or corn, rye, wheat, etc. and then that fermented mash is distilled to produce alcohol. This, of course, is illegal in the United States but it is certainly part of our history, not to mention part of our present in some parts of the country.