Questions on Fermentation "Crust" at Top

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vinividivici

Reaction score
I've got a SunCal Zin kit going since last Friday. Very vigorous fermentation, basement smells like a winery! Very pleased so far. But...

Two questions:

1) There is a thick head of foam that is also somewhat crusty:

P1020911.jpg

This is my first time making wine. Will this collapse and sink to the bottom as sediment or do I have to carefully remove it before racking? I've done homebrewing before and the process is different.

2) The kit instructions say to rack "when fermentation slows down". It's definitely slowed as there are a couple of open areas in the foam that bubble once every couple of seconds. Should I rack now and take the second S.G. reading?

Thanks,

Bob

punch it down more often...it is vigorous and getting dry to air exposure.....just sink it back in more often an dthat wil eliminate the crust....i would do that a bit before rackin just to insure you have gotten everything out of the solids that you could

punch it down more often...it is vigorous and getting dry to air exposure.....just sink it back in more often an dthat wil eliminate the crust....i would do that a bit before rackin just to insure you have gotten everything out of the solids that you could
Thanks, Al. I wish the darn kit instructions mentioned that! It didn't say anything about punching down the head. I'll do that and check on the fermentation rate in a couple of days. I assume I could use a sanitized potato masher to do that?

Hope to get up to your vineyard this summer.

Bob

I agree - punch down the cap and when the time comes - rack off the sediment - sometimes there is still some foam/crusties on top - just leave that behind when racking.

Guys,