Hi from North Louisiana

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bkrell

Junior
Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I've got no experience except I like wine, lol. No, I guess I've always like to garden and always have wanted to plant more than just summer vegetables. We bought a new house about 5 years ago with a pretty decent yard. I began haphazardly trying to plant various fruit trees and the like, such as blueberries, peaches, figs, blackberries, and grapes. The grapes were just a lark-I was at a store that had a pile of clearanced grapes (Concord or Catawba-can't remember) and blueberries. I planted the grapes in a pretty shady spot and really just was kinda landscaping with them b/c I didn't think they would amount to much. But they actually have put out a decent amount of fruit.

But back to my love of wine, I have always entertained planting grapes correctly and making my own. I've always looked down on Muscadines because it seemed like everyone my grandparents' age (including them) in the 1980's got into making muscadine and elderberry everything. But I realized if I do want to try to get into this stuff, I should probably start with something relatively easy to grow. I was thinking of putting in maybe a few plants in the sunniest portion of my yard.

Reading online, I think I'd really like to plant something like a Noble, as I'm more fond of reds. But I'm up for anything if anyone things that's a bad choice. Also, does anyone think it worth it to try to correctly trellis the grape vines I already have growing? Should I try to dig them up and move them?

Thanks! I hate being a beginner but I think it would be a fun hobby. Seems more fun than growing tomatoes, at least!

Welcome to the forum!