Lid or no lid after adding yeast.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ozana

Junior
Reaction score
Hi there,
This is my first time doing this, making wine and posting on this forum.
Two days ago I went to buy some wine juice - just to drink it like that, sweet, but they were only selling it by the bucket-23L, so I ended up with a bucket, lid with a little hole with rubber around it for air, and 15L of Merlot juice. Also got a little package of LALVIN wine yeast. I was suggested that after I'm done drinking the juice, I should sprinkle the yeast on top of the juice. Now, my question is: should I put the lid back on or not? I don't want the bucket to explode, and I'm wondering if that little hole from the lid will be enough for the air to come out during fermentation.
Thank you, I appreciate it.

Welcome aboard!!

You can cover the bucket with a towel during primary fermentation. Did you pick up a hydrometer? If not - i would suggest getting one.

When you transfer to secondary then you will put the airlock on to keep O2 out.

Ozana welcome You've come to the right place. First of all you will leave the lid on loosely. Gotta keep critters out. Take a gravity reading and record somewhere.

You will want to add @20 drops of pectic enzyme, and some yeast nutrients to your must. Gentle stir that in and replace the lid loosely.

After @12 hours add your yeast to @ 2 ounces of water no hotter than 100 degrees. It needs to be very warm. Give it a jiggle to moisten the yeast then wait 15 minutes. Leave the yeast alone. After 15 minutes add it to your must and stir in. Replace the lid loosely.

You should see activity in a day or so. Keep in a warm area and stir twice daily. Not vigorous, gently.

It should finish fermenting in @ 7 days.