Racking Question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chode720

Junior
Reaction score
Hello!

Sorry in advance as I'm sure this has been asked before, but I tried searching and couldn't find what I was looking for....

Anyways, my wife and I made our first batch of wine yesterday! In reading the instructions, the kit says to rack it to a second carboy about a week or so after moving to secondary fermentation in order for the wine to clear.

However, I have been making beer for 3 years and mead for over 2 years so I am quite familiar with fermentation processes, etc and this seems a little excessive to me. I know that when I make my meads I let them sit in the primary for awhile, rack to secondary, then bulk age for a 9-12 month.

Since I only plan on making wine on an occassional basis as I drink a lot more beer or mead, I really dont want to invest in a 2nd carboy and have it collecting dust for most of the year, let alone adding another step to risk oxidation, etc.

I have bottled numerous meads directly from a carboy with lots of sediment at the bottom and have never had an issue keeping the racking cane above the sediment to keep the end product crystal clear in the bottles.

I know it might take a little longer to clear without the second racking, but I'm not in a rush to have it done and dont mind monitoring until its completely clear.

Thanks for any advice!!

Welcome to the forum. Not sure what kit you have going, but the easiest way of dealing with this is to rack from your carboy back to your bucket to get it off the sediment. If you do this add your sulphite ( diluted in some warm water) to the bucket first so you have some protection against oxidation and put your tube or cane to the bottom of the bucket so the wine flows in submerged rather than splashing. It can also be easier to degas in the bucket.