Hello From Maryland:)

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cindy

Reaction score
Hi, I'm Cindy
I am very new to wine making and hoping I can get lots of idea's and info from the experts here, I have my 1st 5 gallon batch of Strawberry wine fermenting now I added the yeast last night and this morning it's bubbling but I'm not sure how long to keep it in the primary or when to transfer it to the carboy any advise would be great!
nice meeting you all!!

Hi Cindy,

Welcome to winemakingtalk. Stir your must daily and take a hydrometer reading every few days. When your it gets down to below 1.010 you can either rack to a secondary or snap the lid down on your primary and add an airlock then let it fermetn til dry. Dry would be when have a hydrometer reading of less than 1.000

Hi Cindy,

Welcome to winemakingtalk. Stir your must daily and take a hydrometer reading every few days. When your it gets down to below 1.010 you can either rack to a secondary or snap the lid down on your primary and add an airlock then let it fermetn til dry. Dry would be when have a hydrometer reading of less than 1.000

Thanks Julie,
I have a hydrometer so I guess I will need to learn how to use it.
I have so much to learn and it's kind of overwhelming. here is the kit that I bought it came with recipe books but no real instructions.
Thank you so much for your help!
IMG_1202.jpg

Welcome to the forum, Cindy.

You are in good hands with Julie.

Thank you Robie, this is a bit off topic but how do I set it so I get email allerts to my posts?

Thank you Robie, this is a bit off topic but how do I set it so I get email allerts to my posts?

Go to your account settings and then to your control panel and choose edit options.
From there go to Default Thread Subscription Mode. You can change it there

Cindy,