What's for dinner?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Julie

Reaction score
Ok, what is everyone serving tomorrow for Thanksgiving Dinner?

I will be doing a traditional turkey but I do have it in a brine made of water, salt, worchestershire sauce, and pepper. Also, there will be mashed potatoes, stuffing, buttered corn, cole slaw, and candied sweet potatoes. I will serve a Reisling to go along with dinner, for dessert I have pumpkin pie and caramel pecan pie that I will serve a chocolate infused ice wine.

It will only be myself, Mike and my son Steve and his wife, Julie. My stepson can not come home because he is working, my daughter's fiance can not get off from work, he works for the Air Force and my other son teachers in China. While the two boys haven't been home for Thanksgiving for a few years, this is my first year without my daughter being home and this is tough.

If you have all your family home, be thankful, that is truly a gift from God.

We will be having 2 Turkey Breasts, mashed taters, buttered corn, my moms candied sweet potatoes even though she isnt coming, rolls, cranberry compote, and green bean casserole. For dessert my aunt is cooking both a Bourbon Pecan pie and Dutch Apple pie, plus we have Tiramisu and Cannoli. Serving a Piesporter with dinner and Choc. Rasp. port with dessert. Jules, looks like many of out coarses are the same. Is that Dan's Ice wine or did you make also?

Last edited:
Yes it does, and it is really makes me feel good to know that while we live in different states we are having close to the same meal, I will be thinking of you Wade. The ice wine is mine, it is a year old and very good. And what is Tiramisu?

lol, I suck Dan's down as soon as I get a bottle of it.