Pectic Enzyme

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bert

Reaction score
I just read something on the use of pectic enzyme. It said not to add pectic with bentonite as it negate the effect of the pectic enzyme. I often use both in fruit wines. Has anyone any comments on this. As this news to me. Maybe I've been useing wrong all this time???
smiley5.gif

Oh great, I just used Bentonite for my last 2 batches. I read that it
was good to use in primary ferm. I hope if its true it doesn't do any
harm. Any body else know any more this topic?

I was under the impression that one should add pectic enzyme and wait 8 hours for it to do its work before doing anything else to the batch.
I use it after i Sterilize the juice and have allowed the sulfates to have 24 hours alone.
Maybe im being too cautious but i have very little experience and usually learn from making some beautifull mistakes

Every recipe I've ever used or read says to dump everything in except for yeast so I'm at a loss.

wadewade said:
Every recipe I've ever used or read says to dump everything in except for yeast so I'm at a loss.

I also put everything in the first day...except the yeast, yeast nutrient and yeast energizer.....
Should I add the yeast energizer/nutrient the first day too??????

I dont know if you should but I always do. Those are the instructions
on every kit and Vintners Harvest Wine bases so I do the same with my
scratch wines also and have never had a problem.

Do you folks mean sugar too and then wait a day to pitch??? Sounds nice and easy.

Do your kits usually have pectic enzyme in them????Edited by: scotty

Not that I know of but the wine bases say to add because most of them are solid packed fruit in juice.