So, I Maaay have never added yeast...

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Crystalcourts

Junior
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new here. I made an account specifically to ask this question, and I hope you find it at least amusing.

This is my first time making wine. My friend and I got some great concord grapes, cleaned them thoroughly with crushed campden tablets, mashed them well and put them in a 10-gallon bucket with a clean plastic sheet securing the top. It was put on a table, and I went and got some champagne yeast from a place out of town. I made a starter bottle, and stuck it on top of my fridge with a cotton covering it so that it could breathe overnight. When I woke up the next day, I was greeted by a giant mess on top of my fridge. I thought I'd given it enough room to breathe, but I obviously made a mistake, so I decided to just get more yeast in a few days when I had time to drive out to the little beer and wine supply shop.

This never happened. I'm a college student. While it may appear that booze is always in the forefront of a college student's mind, it is not. Two months have passed, and I have this 10-gallon bucket of must in the basement on a table. I went down today, and checked the sugar content -- the meter says 0. I was very hygienic with my tools and ingredients, but *something* fermented it, and it smells like wine. It didn't have fur or anything scary or suspicious on growing on it. It doesn't seem vinegar-y. So...will drinking this kill me?

Most likely you either didnt add enough sulfite to stop the wild yeast or that the sulfite level dropped enough to let the wild yeast finally start.