When Can You......?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buckhorn

Reaction score
On my drive home from work today I was thinking.

I know a trick to get more body in your wine is to add raisins. But when can you add them? Does it have to be during the primary fermentation stage? Can you add them into Secondary or even during bulk storage/aging and still get the effect of added body to the wine?

It would be wonderful if you could add to bulk storage after secondary as this is when I get my best taste and could decide if I wanted to tweak a little... I am not experienced enough to tell these things earlier in the game yet...

The same question for other additives - I assume you can add oak chips during storage because this mimics the aging process in oak barrels - but what about any other additions like vanilla beans, etc...?

Thanks - just thinking and trying to learn

The issue would be the sugar released by the raisins or for that matter anything else you add that contains any sugars. If you plan to backsweeten your wine that may be great BUT how do you know how much a set amount of raisins will add to your wine. There are of course other things that are in the raisins that will be added to the wine but the sugars are the thing that could potentially have the biggest impact.

No need to add vanilla if you use the right toast.

Vanilla flavor components are normally extracted from the caramelization layer just below the woods char.

Also, you do not want to age on oak too long and extract the more tannic and bitter components that exist deeper in the wood.

Grape Skin Packs

Raisins make your wine taste like raisins. Get some grape skin packs.

So I understand the benefit of grape skin packs, but where and how can you purchase them?