PASTEUR RED

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NorthernWinos

Reaction score
I have never used Red Star Yeasts before....I was wondering if Red Star Pasteur Red finishes to a dry wine???
I mixed up a grape must yesterday from our own Valiant Grapes and just pitched the Pasteur Red Yeast....now I am worried that it won't finish dry like we like....Guess I should have asked you guys first....????
The Valiants are like Concord Grapes, and is suppose to make a good wine if it gets oaked and aged enough...just wanted to try it once to see.
I had read that it was good for early picked grapes, we don't have a refractometer, so didn't know the Brix...It also said it was good for bold reds...so was hoping it would do the trick...maybe a Lalvin RC 212 would have been better...?Edited by: Northern Winos

What was your beginning SG NW?
I found this info on a google search:
http://wine.appellationamerica.com/grape-varietal/Valiant.html

This red wine producing grape, reportedly cold-hardy to -70 F (approx. -52 C), has lived up to its name in some harsh winter conditions. Valiant is grown in South Dakota, Minnesota, and other parts of the continental Midwest. Valiant is also grown in the Canadian prairie provinces, where reportedly it does not require protection from the elements, wintering above ground instead of the usual 'hilling-up' required for most varieties subjected to similar conditions. The vine was developed by Dr. Ron Peterson at South Dakota State University from a Fredonia x Wild Montana (Vitis riparia) cross. It is mostly used in blends, but is also made into jelly, and consumed as a table grape. Ripening about three weeks prior to Concord, it typically produces grapes with low acid levels and high sugars Edited by: Waldo

I think it will take it to bone dry NW and should end up around 14 to 15%Edited by: Waldo