Any Tips and Tricks to Degasing

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rstar26

Reaction score
Anyone out there have an tips or tricks to degassing wine? My kit suggested that over 24 hours to stir the wine 6 times vigorously for 3 minutes each. I am on stir number 5 and it appears as though there are still quite a few bubbles. I am using the handle of my stir spoon to stir the wine. I live out of the city and do not have access to a vaccum pump or anything, any other suggestions? How much gas out is enough? This is only my first rack of the wine, I am supposed to be adding the chitosan to clear the wine after the 24 hours of stiring post sorbate/sulphite addition. Will the wine suffer if i delay the addition of the chitosan to keep stirring the wine?

I bought a whip that goes on a drill for degasing. I'm new at this and havent used it yet, it was $10

Stirring using the long handled spoon is one way to go, but I use the drill mounted stirrer that you can buy from several suppliers. As far as degassing is concerned, be sure that the temperature of the wine is in the low 70 degrees F and stir vigorously until you no longer see bubbles forming. Splash racking also helps, which, as the name implies, entails letting the wine splash into the receiving carboy to introduce as much air as possible.

What is the SG reading at present?
What brand and variety of kit do you have?
What do the instructions say regarding the addition of Keiselsol and Chitosan?

Normally the order is to ferment to dry (i.e. SG 0.995 or so), de-gas comletely, add K-meta, add first the Kieselsol and then the Chitosan, stirring both in very well. Lastly, add the K-sorbate and stir. These instructions vary slightly from one manufacturer to another, so check what came with your kit. If there are no instructions, these will work fine.