Filter wine with coffee filter?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hoxbar

Junior
Reaction score
I was talking to a guy the other day at my local wine supply store and he told me that he filters his wine with coffee filters. Does this sound crazy? I've always heard the saying, "A poor man, has poor ways". Would this work if you did not have the extra money to buy a filter?

Hoxbar,

I am still a newbie, and I am resisting the urge to buy a filter at the moment. Although not cost prohibitive, I really don't see a need for it at the moment. Everything I have made so far is clearing well with time. Now I might still run into something that won't and perhaps then I will invest in a filter system.

Besides I don't think that a coffee filter would work very well for large batches if it wasn't already pretty clear already.

Yes I have heard that. I think the filter is only to filter one bottle. So, If you have a fruit wine with floaties why not try it. No way would I use that for a whole batch thou.
Yes filtering helps. I have the "mini" and use it on my whites. It does a great job. When you see the before and after you will invest in one.

I'll admit I have used a coffee filter for my green walnut liqueur I made this past year. But it was a very small batch and I was trying to get out coffee beans, whole spices after that I ran it through the Vinbright Gravity Filter which is a very good investment for $45 and its great for small batches. I have used it for the larger batches but the mini is much faster and you can use it as a pump as well so you can filter from the carboy on the ground to the one on the table so you can bottle.
VPC

tepe said: