How to know whether a wine doesnt need much aging

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

byronyasgur

Junior
Reaction score
I'm just getting into wine making and I've yet to make a wine. I've brewed a fair bit of beer. Naturally I'd like to be able to make a wine that would be ready sooner rather than later - some recipes say things like "this wine will be ready in a week" or a month or something ... can anybody tell me generally speaking what are the factors which determine whether a wine will be ready sooner rather than later.
I live in Ireland ( no native grapes ) so I'd prefer to start with an fruit wine like an elderberry or a raspberry or something - or even a honey or apple wine - but I'd try anything including a kit - but even the kits have varying times for ageing - does anyone have any suggestions for something along these lines that would be properly ready without having to wait a year - or should I just wait it out.

First... Welcome to the forum!

I would suggest using this recipe or a variation of it for making fruit wines... http://www.winemakingtalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=41825&highlight=danger+dave%27s

I and others here have started our country/fruit making ventures with this recipe.

Generally speaking my experience has been that country wines and low end kits, especially whites, allow for early consumption of some pretty decent wines. Another way to go is with the "mist" style wines from Winexpert or the competitive product from RJ Spagnols - https://www.rjscraftwinemaking.com/orchard-breezin/

Last edited:
I would add to the previous comments as follows.