Goofed-added f pak before yeast

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hhpiper

Junior
Reaction score
I goofed and added the f pak when I added the juice not realizing that it was not a juice. I started the fermenting and it s going well. Did I ruin the wine or is there anything I can do. The kit is the peach apricots Chardonnay.

I am a beginner myself and not experienced enough to answer your question. I will say that the first time I made wine. I studied my recipe numerous time before I actually made the wine. I laid everything out in order and it seemed to help by having a check list so I would not leave out anything or get ahead of myself. I hope you can salvage your kit. It sounds like it would be a great one.

I goofed and added the f pak when I added the juice not realizing that it was not a juice. I started the fermenting and it s going well. Did I ruin the wine or is there anything I can do. The kit is the peach apricots Chardonnay.

Contact the kit manufacturer. Most of them guarantee them against mistakes. A woman I work with did this with a Winexpert kit and they sent her a whole new kit. The guy who owns the shop where she bought it from helped her salvage the one she messed up. She said it ended up better than when she followed the recipe. I think she just ended up back sweetening it when it was done fermenting.

Let us know how you make out.

your still good

When I made a few of these kits in the past I always added the entire F-pack at the start since I don't like sweet wine. It did not prevent fermentation at all. The only thing that it did was raise the ABV up by 2-3%. Just keep it warm, let it ferment dry and use a simple sugar solution to backsweeten to your tastes. If you like it drier, then try glycerin to give it some body

cheers