Beginner from Williamsburg, VA!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zrhanson

Junior
Reaction score
Hello all!

SO my name is Zach, and I haven't really lurked much on the forums here TOO MUCH, but I think I'm going to start after I make this post. I've been here a few times just to look for random tips (whenever Google sent me here) and it seems like a great place full of smart people! Anyway, I'm a college student here at William and Mary, originally from central PA, and after talking to my Pap I decided to follow in the family footsteps and make myself my own little batch of wine, following one of his old recipes for a strawberry-dandelion wine. So, being a poor college student, I bought what I could afford, used what I already had, and I just racked my wine into the secondary fermentors. I was just hoping you all could possibly help me in determining whether or not my Wine will come out awful, or potentially delicious? Here's what I've done thus far:

1) Picked a ton of dandelions and got their petals off. Then I froze them for later (when the rest of my stuff finally arrived). (It was maybe a quart or two of petals?) Then I boiled them with some slices of lemon and orange and a bit of sugar for about 30 minutes.
2) Smooshed up 3 lbs of strawberries, added about 3 lbs of sugar (minus what I put in to boil with the dandelion petals), and a pound of golden raisins (for body? One site was very adamant that I do this). Added yeast nutrient and pectic enzyme. Waited for my dandelion mixture to cool down a bit and put that in. This was all in a smallish ACE harware bucket.
SIDENOTE) Everything I used I first cleaned with Clorox Cleanup, then rinsed the crap out of it to make sure all traces of bleach were gone.