dandelion wine help

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

weltercat

Junior
Reaction score
I am very new to wine making in fact this is my first try and I have very little knowledge of the whole process. I have been reading about the basics of fermentation.

I have a couple questions about some dandelion wine I am making. Here is the recipe I used to start off with.

1 gal. dandelion flowers
1 gal. boiling water
3 lbs. sugar
3 oranges, cut in small squares
3 lemons, cut in small squares
1 oz. yeast

Pick dandelion flowers, early in the morning, taking care not to have a particle of the bitter stem attached.

Pour the boiling water over the flowers and let stand three days.

Strain and add the rest of the ingredients and let stand to ferment for three weeks.

Strain and bottle.

I put a lot of labor into separating the green stems and leaves from the yellow flowers so I want this batch to turn out. The wine has been fermenting for three weeks now and it smells like very yeasty wine at this point. I understand that I do not want to bottle it too soon or I will have a mess and a lot of wasted wine.

How do I know when the wine is ready to bottle? It has been three weeks and the wine is still very cloudy. It is a yellowish brown opaque color not clear at all. The flowers, orange and lemon pulp are still floating on the top. I have been stirring the mix about every other day. Should the mash sink to the bottom? Will the wine clear up?

Any words of wisdom on what I should do at this point would be greatly appreciated.

You really should syphon it off into a sanitized demijohn leaving the sediment, citrus fruit bits and flower petals behind and put it back under an airlock.

It'll then ferment out fully and start to clear slowly.