How much alcohol is too much alcohol?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Heidi

Junior
Reaction score
How much alcohol is too much? I am a very green newbie at making wine. My first batch of peach wine isn't quite done and has an alcohol content of about 23%! I've made a delicious Muscadine that is 16%. Is there a guideline that is considered too high?

Heidi, what I'm looking for is a wine with an alc content of 10-12%. With a little aging the " alc hotness" will generally dissipate in 6-12 months.

An alc content of 23% means your starting SG was 1.160. To achieve those numbers would require some sort of turbo yeast and they "are" available. About all you can expect from a high alc yeast like Lalvin 1118 is 18% so what kind of yeast did you use?

Believe it or not--I used plain ole regular yeast. I sure wished I had researched wine making in much more detail in books and multiple internet sites first.

I had a peach tree that produced hundreds of peaches this year. They all became ripe at the same time. I viewed a few sites on winemaking and followed one recipe. I took the peaches, yeast and sugar and placed them in the primary fermenter. Then (according to the directions), I stirred the contents every day and tasted it. If it wasn't "sweet", the directions were to add sugar until it was. If fermenting stopped--add yeast. LOL This process went on for a month until I talked to someone who has made homemade wine. He said all I did by adding the additional sugar (and yeast) was boost up the alcohol content. I thought I really screwed it up, but he took a quart with him, did some magic and it's pretty good. It's strong, but good. (He added super smooth and a peach flavor pack). Had I only researched a little more! He told me to let the remainder of the wine sit until fermentation is complete, so it still sits.