Hi, Anybody out there make Mead?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MarsD

MarsD
Reaction score
My name is Mars and I am living in North Carolina. I started making wine over 20 years ago, however I have not made any in quite a while. Now I find myself with two bee hives and 6 or 7 gallons of excess honey. I made 10 gallons of mead last year which I am ready to bottle now. Before now I have had no experience with tasting, drinking or making mead.

Anybody out there with any tips? I would like to make a mead that is dry if that is possible, and would be willing to use additives to make it more vinifera-like. (I used some acid blend in the present batch to give it a little bite).

Having no access to fresh grapes I have made wine in the past from Damson Plums and other fruit.

I have made a couple batches of Mead this year. I started them back in July of this year. I added two pounds of wild huckleberries to both batches for a little color.

I really screwed up the first batch when I sulfited and sorbated it too early as well as back sweetening it with a bottle of huckleberry juice. It is just too sweet and the alcohol content is around 15%. So I am using it to top off other batches of stuff.

The other batch is turning out quite good and is much dryer and I suspect in another 6 months or so it will be very good.

You mentioned that you like it dry so I would recommend using Red Star Premier Cuvée or Champagne Yeast. I used Red Star Côte de Blancs on my second batch and it dryed out but left a little sweetness even though the SG is .99.

I have made lots of mead and have three recipes on my web site, plus a meddyglyn recipe. My favorite mead is light in color and body, and very dry. The recipe for 1 gallon is as follows:

2.2 lbs. wildflower honey
1/4 tsp. tannins
1/2 tsp. acid blend
1 tsp. yeast nutrient