Honey for mead, can I make my own???

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marie79

Junior
Reaction score
I am new to the world of wine making, been making country wine for about a year now. Okay so here is my question I have a recipe to make a wild flower honey with local clover and fireweed. I made up a bunch of it and it is great, to me I wouldn't know it was homemade....soooo perhaps I could try a mead out of it? Ideas? Thoughts? I have no recipes (any recipes out there) for mead and would appreciate some advice would like a fruit flavored mead. I have one gallons to experiment with. In fact I just upgraded to five gallon carboys and made my first batch in them, skeeter pee! Help please!!!

Red Raspberry Mead (Melomel) recipe

I would definitely use your honey to make some mead. You can find a nice collection of mead recipes here: http://brewery.org/library/beeslees.html

But here is the recipe for the very first mead I made, and it is still my absolute favorite. I tweaked it from a recipe that a friend shared with me, to make my own. I have two bottles left and five gallons aging. If you make it, I know you will enjoy it!

Red Raspberry Melomel (Red Raspberry Honey Wine)
Recipe for 1 gallon batch

2 pounds frozen red raspberries, thawed
2 11oz containers 100% fruit Apple-Raspberry frozen concentrate, thawed
Honey (have 5 pounds on hand...use 2 pounds initially & add more as needed to reach target starting S.G.)
2 tsp pectic enzyme
1/8 tsp yeast nutrient (with yeast starter and Day3)

1/8 tsp yeast energizer (on Day 3, Day 5 and Day 7)
1 gallon distilled water (added in 64oz-32oz-32oz increments)
Red Star® Côte des Blancs (ferment temp 64F-86F) or Premier Cuvee (ferment temp 45F-95F)

k-meta
potassium sorbate

It is a given that cleaning AND sanitization of all equipment has been completed before starting.