Kit taste

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Geronimo

Norges Skaal!
Reaction score
Ok, I've got some experience behind me and I've brewed up 4 different kit makers' vino. One of them really seems to have a "taste" that just isn't quite perfect.

I'm 99% sure many of you know what I mean. Does anything improve it?

I hate to be blunt because, in my experience, all the kits from one manufacturer seem to have it. None of the kits from the others do.

I'll try aerating/decanting and see if that cleans it out. Thanks

Were these low end kits, high end kits? Red? White? Skins, no skins? Grape pack, no grape pack.......

Please give us some details.

High end, red, no skins. I guess I have to be blunt...

The 2 main kits I'm referring to are WE Lodi Ranch 11 Cab Sav and the WE Stag's Leap Merlot. I also tasted it in the Mezza Luna red and others I made from WE. I'm going to aerate a bottle tonight and see if a couple hours cleans it up.

They do go away with time but yes for some reason that is the brand that it really stands out in and the main reason I dont buy that brand too much but like I said it does go away with lots of aging which these red kits need anyway!

How long have these aged? I think I've seen other people say (and Winexpert apparently does the same) that these two kits do not become ideal until around 1-2 years or so.

The WE Lodi Ranch is 9 months old. We did a comparison (My wife and I plus 2 friends) against a 3 month old CC Red Mountain Cab Sav.

Hands down, the CC Cab Sav won. We think the main difference is the use of skins by CC versus a tannin addition in the WE kit.

I'm going to be fair and leave two of these bottles taped together for another 18 months then try them again (Christmas time, 2013).