WineXpert Aging & Storing the Eclipse kits

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stickymatch

Reaction score
I'll start off by saying that I'm a wine making noob. I'm currently doing my first kit which is the Eclipse Stag's Leap District Merlot. I'll be performing the stabilizing and clearing stage on Monday. My original intention was to follow the directions to the T except for letting it bulk age an additional month prior to bottling. After some extensive reading on this site, I think I might bulk age for an additional 5-6 months. Is this a good idea? Regardless, the plan after bottling would be to taste 6 months after bottling and then every 6 months or so thereafter depending on taste but leaving 5-10 bottles alone to age about 4-5 years.

Following this kit will be an Eclipse Pinot Gris. Any advice on bulk aging this kit?

With that being said, bulk aging would be done in my basement which is about 65 degrees year round give or take a degree or so. Once bottled, I have the option of keeping the bottles in the 65 degree area to age and store or purchasing 2 wine coolers (1 for red and 1 for white), at an expense, to age and store. While I've read that 55 degrees is the "ideal" cellar temp, I've also read that reds age better at up to 58 degrees and whites around 50 or so...if I'm way off it's probably because I've read so much conflicting info.

So...what's really the best route for aging and storing these wines? Is 65 in the basement ok and not detrimental to the wine from an aging and storing perspective? Am I better off with the wine coolers? Do I need to age & store reds and whites at separate temps or will 55F across the board work?