Other Vino Italiano Moscato kit not "crisp"

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pantaleo

Junior
Reaction score
This is my first time with this kit and making moscato. I just racked a Vino Italiano Moscato Kit off the gross lees to bulk age. I've read reviews of this kit and therefore only made 5 gallons instead of the 6 gallons the instructions recommended. Today was the day that designated the day to bottle per the instructions. Before racking the wine I pulled enough to taste.

The flavor was good, very much similar to the Moscato from commercial winemakers. However, the wine didn't have the "crisp" bite. It almost seemed flat. I know that some Moscato wines are slightly carbinated, but that isn't the difference that I am trying to describe.

Is there something that I can do at this point to add that bite/crisp to the wine? Or will the aging add it to the wine?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Wine will change over time. I have no idea how long this particular kit can age. However, I am surprised it already tastes as good as you say. Since it is already pretty good, it will only get better with some age. As I mentioned, I don't know what the aging potential is for this particular kit; just make sure you drink it before it starts to fade.

Maybe your looking for more acid. Maybe zesting an orange and adding it might help, but I would wait three months first to see how it tastes at that point.

Maybe your looking for more acid. Maybe zesting an orange and adding it might help, but I would wait three months first to see how it tastes at that point.

I think that you are right. I'll wait and see in a few months how it tastes and see if anything changes.

Thanks!

Muscat repair

HAY DO IT NOW:tz