How do you use bentonite?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deboard

Reaction score
I've been making this wine stuff for almost 2 years now, but I had never used bentonite. After reading more than one post talking about it, I decided to get some. The instructions say to put two teaspoons in warm water and then add that to the must/wine.

Is this what everyone does? I ended up with some gray mud that preferred to coat the container it was in rather than go in the wine. I should have expected this since it's just clay.

Seems like it should be ok to just put 2 tsp directly into the must and stir in with the rest of the ingredients. Am I missing something here?

For the people that use bentonite, do you use it only during fermentation or have you used it afterward with success?

It is used up front before fermentation. It must be used with hot/boiling water, you can't just dump it into the must as it wouldn't dissolve. It should end up being a nice thick slurry. I usually heat about 6oz water in the microwave till boiling then pour it in and stir like crazy with a glass stirring rod for a few minutes, then just let it sit for another 10 min more and stir again just prior to pouring it into the primary. It will fully dissolve/integrate into the must if you follow this procedure.

It works either way you use it. You need to work it into the warm water so that it's a thick milk like substance. There's always going to be a little that's somewhat solid, but I pour all the milky stuff off the top and try to leave the solids in the bottom. Mixing slow helps keep it from clumping. It can do a good job on some wines, depending on the problem, but others may not gain much. I don't use any clearing agent, until it's obvious it isn't clearing very well. Just how I do it.