Need some advice please

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Timme777

Junior
Reaction score
Hello fellow winemakers!

I'm a newbie and need some help that I can't seem to find on the web...I'm sure there is someone in here that could quickly answer my query.

I'm in the second stage of fermentation of a wild Elderberry and Blackberry wine...following a recipe from off the net everything seems to be going well. To well in fact that the fermentation is so vigorous that I'm concerned that my wine will end up being to alcoholic and lose flavour... I am tempted to stop fermentation because I still want abit of sweetness left in there...is that the right thing to do or should I just let the wine naturally stop fermenting?
My must before adding yeast had a reading of 17% potential alcohol, primary fermentation over 4 days saw the reading at 7%... I am now 24 hours into secondary fermentation and my hydro is saying 3%,and is bubbling away at about 90 bubbles per minute through the airlock! Should I stop the fermentation process now and crush a campden tablet in to keep some of the fruity sweet flavours in the wine or just let it make its own mind up! Just don't want to lose out on the lovely oaky flavours of the wild fruit from the hedgerow! I'm more interested in flavour over alcohol content! I just don't know what to do! Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Tim
Cornwall, UK

It is very hard to stop a fermentation when it is in process. You should just let it go ahead and ferment out to dry then add the proper chemicals ( potassium metabisilfite and sorbate ) and after everything is stable and the wine is clear, then backsweeten to whatever level suits you using a simple syrup (2 parts sugar 1 part water)

Last edited: