Blackberry wine taking forever

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CJMiller

Junior
Reaction score
I've got some blackberry wine in my primary fermenter and my instructions say to leave it in there for 4 to 5 days or until the specific gravity reads 1.040. It's been it for for 6 days and is at 1.068 and is going very slowly....about .010 per day. What should I do???????

First question your going to be asked is what is the temperature of the must.

I'm not sure. I'm new at this and don't have a thermometer yet. My house is kept at 70 thou if that helps any. I'm just wondering if I rack it now into secondary will it mess it up....

More experience needs to chime in here, but I would think your must still needs oxygen for the yeast at this point so I would not rack to a carboy yet.

CJ, I always watch my hydrometer and do not look at weeks, days or hours. There are so many factors that can affect fermentation time. I use the analogy of driving a car from Columbus to Pittsburgh. Some people will tell you it takes 3 1/2 hours but the truth is it is about 200 miles. Sometimes when I drive it, the weather is great, the semis are hauling a-- and I don't see the State Police in great numbers so I can make it in 3 hours flat. Other times, I run into traffic, construction, speed traps, etc. and it takes 4 hours. In either case it is the same distance, 200 miles. It is the same with wine. You need to get the SG from where you started to where you want to finish and that is a definable number. The time it takes to do this can vary greatly.

As long as your SG is moving and not stuck, you're fine. A slow fermentation may yeild more flavor also.