Can't get the gas out of Elderberry wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shinewine

Junior
Reaction score
Hi everyone:

I'm new to winemaking and this forum, and hope you experts can help. I decided I had enough elderberry jelly and tried some elderberry wine last fall september. I purchased the right equipment. Practiced sanitary methods, etc. All is well. It even tastes delicious. Except for one thing. Too much gas.

Bought the whip, but as I used it and used it, I was afraid of oxygenation, and I thought it wasn't working because upon tasting, it still was bubbly. So I bought a more expensive degasser. Still didn't work. So, I read the wine mag experts and we purchased a vacuum pump. We had the pump on there for over 30 minutes. And it kept degassing and depassing. We added implements to increase the nucleation (sp) points, and more gas. The pressure was initially 27 and after 20 mins went up to 29, and we were afraid to continue to degas anymore. So, we tasted it, and it has more Co2 than pop. (yes, I'm from pittsburgh).

I have 2 carboys of some otherwise really great tasting elderberry wine. One oaked, the other not. Both with too much gas. I made some kits wines for drinking right away, as I knew it would take some time for the elderberry to be done. But now, the elderberry is strong in alcohol, dry, tasty, clear, but gassy...HELP.....

Thanks.

Everything was working well.