New to wine making

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

swillologist

Reaction score
Hi! I'm new to winemaking. Had an over flow of grapes last fall. My neighbor talked me into making some wine. He has been making wine for sometime. I'm not much of a wine person. So I really don't know if it is good or not. Everyone thatI have gave it to said thatit is good. But they can't beat the price and I think they are justbeing nice. I started a batch of rhubarb a couple of weeks ago. I have had some problems with it. But I think it is going now. This could be an interesting batch. I have enjoyed reading the forum. Sound like a nice bunch of people.

Welcome to the forum swillologist, interesting to see how your rhubarb turns out, there's a couple of us getting ready to try a batch of this I think. Have fun with the new hobby, and enjoy your stay here. Plenty of good people here willing to help and share the experience with!

Welcome swillologist, I have not made rhubarb but have had it a few
times and do like it. I like making wine more than drinking it.

Welcome Swillologist to the forum. Just keep on making it and the compliments will keep coming from the friends.

Where did you get your degree in Swillology?
smiley36.gif

Welcome to the forum Swillologist....I have made some rhubarb wine and the acid levels can be a little tricky....3lbs. of rhubarb per gallon seem to come out OK, but at 5lbs. per gallon I had to add calcium carbonate to bring the acid level down. Rhubarb can make a very delightful wine or used as a base with apple or strawberry and others fruits...Good luck and hope you enjoy this new hobby...

Welcome Swillologist....hope you make many more batches of wine and share your experiences with us.

Hi Swillologist, Nice to have you on board! Rhubarb is by far one of my favorite wines! I hoard it...
smiley9.gif