Going from first to second stage of fermentation

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wall_of_Paul

Junior
Reaction score
Hello all! I'm new to wine making and just started my first batch on Christmas Eve but I have a few questions as the instructions in my kit don't specify what to do in this situation.

The kit I am making is a WineXpert Pink Moscato and I'm using a fastferment conical system that the local supplier convinced me to get as a starting point. The process has been smooth so far except my airlock system jammed up for a day leading me to believe that the fermentation had stopped after 3 days. I adjusted the lid after another day and it must have nudged it lose because the bubbler started dancing again and has been doing so steadily since.

The instructions say that after 5-7 days I should transition to the second stage of fermentation by racking which is done by removing the collection ball on a fastferment. I am unsure of whether I should proceed yet, though, as the airlock is still dancing right along which tells me that the yeast is still working and generating co2. With tomorrow being day 7, should I still transition to the secondary stage or wait until the activity in the airlock calms down?

Either way I had planned on testing the SG tomorrow just to see if it matches what the instructions indicate I should see at this point.

Happy New Years to you!

Hello all! I'm new to wine making and just started my first batch on Christmas Eve but I have a few questions as the instructions in my kit don't specify what to do in this situation.