New to wine making

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mjohn

Junior
Reaction score
Hello everyone,<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" />

I am new to wine making. In fact, I have not even finished my first gallon. I have a book but it seems to be leaving many things out. First,I will tellyou a little about what I have done so far.The first thingI didis bought a kit on the Internet that said it had everythingI needed to make wine.This kit includedTwo one galloncarboys, one primary fermentation bucket, a plug, an air lock, a siphoning tube, a mesh bag,Campden Tablets,Yeast Nutrient, Pectic Enxyme, Acid Blend, Sodium Matabisulfite, Grape Tannin,all purpose yeast anda instruction book. After Reading the book, I realizedIhad to have aHydrometer. I decided to startwith fruit winesbecausethe booksays they are easierand cheaper. Istarted withraspberry.Well, therecipes inthe book didnn't say to put waterin the recipe (well it does just in very small print at the bottom of the page) about two days afterIadded the yeast, I found my mistake and added the water. To make along story short it went bad.
smiley11.gif
smiley7.gif
NowI have started an Apple wine and it seems to be coming along nicely.I am getting ready to start another andIhave a fewquestions.

1) I see people here boiling the water and adding sugar. Notjust adding sugar to cold water, is this what Ishould do?

2)ShouldI get an Acid test kit?

3)How long shouldI wait before bottling my apple wine (the Fermentation has stopped it’s been like three months).

Thanks for all the help you can give
smiley1.gif

Welcome and I would suggest you take some time and read through these articles as they should answer some questions you have and make the whole process clearer:

http://www.finevinewines.com/Wine-Kit-Articles.htm