Apple Wine?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

teraann

Junior
Reaction score
I have 90 lbs of apples from my Dad's tree. I am hoping to find a few different varieties of recipes. I see one recipe posted for straight Apple Wine and a couple for Apple Cider; maybe I'm not looking in the right place?
I am looking for something fairly easy, I am still fairly new at homemade wine making. I do not have a press. I froze my rhubard to make those recipes so I plan to do the same for the apple wine. Any recipe's anyone can share? Or can you direct me to the best place to look?

With out a press and shredder, how are you going to juice your apples?

Sorry but my personal opinion if I was in your shoes I would be making apple sauce and pie and buy fresh apple cider to make the wine.

I am going to freeze the apples first and then thaw and extract the juice.

You will need to crush the apples somehow to extract the juice from them. The cheapest way if you cant or dont want to find a cheap maybe used apple press is to buy cheap garbage disposal unit and mount it on say a pce of plywood and run it with a bucket underneath and use a pce of wood to push the apples down into it. You do need to crush the apples pretty good to get juice out of them unlike a lot of other fruits.

Wade are you serious??? I often joked about doing something like that. It's a cool idea. My only concern is what about grinding up the seeds? wouldn't he have to quarter each apple or core them?