Yeast Nutrient and Yeast Energizer for Skeeter Pee

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LJPelletier

Reaction score
Okay... so I am extremely new to the whole home brewing of anything... but am now over 24 hours into my first successful primary fermentation using juice from 50lbs of Chardonnay grapes.

I have read about Skeeter Pee on their website, and would like to try a batch of that as well... why waste the stuff at the bottom of my wine, right?

Unfortunately I know nothing of the yeast nutrients of energizer. Could anyone please tell me what chemicals or concoctions I need to buy for nutrients and energizer? :d

Last edited:
All the brew stores I have been to sell yeast nutrients and yeast energizer. They come in small bottles or zip lock bags. Just ask at the store and they will help you. Arne.

So I have come to the conclusion that yeast energizer and nutrients differ depending on where you are buying your stuff.

Some suppliers seem to have energizer with the ingredients that other suppliers are selling as nutrients.

The main ingredient they all have is DAP (Diammonium Phosphate). Some of them also have yeast hulls, as a vitamin B source. They can also have other ingredients including urea, calcium triphosphate, or other compounds meant to provide nitrogen.

From what I have read about DAP, it is good in moderation... but add too much and your yeast will die. So, it seems to me that the call for both yeast nutrients and energizer in the skeeter pee is a small flaw. I don't think there is a need to buy 2 products. A product containing DAP, and yeast hulls should do the job.

:n

I have made several batches of the stuff. I pretty well follow Lon's directions and have very few problems with it fermenting. The lemon is kinda hard to make ferment, but If you follow Lon's directions it ferments fine. Arne.