Mulberry + Black Raspberry wine? I'm brand new to this and need help!!!!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cwill

Junior
Reaction score
Greetings...

I just stumbled upon this forum while scouring the internet for information on wine making. I'm brand new to this, so any help would be immensely appreciated!

My family has a fairly big yard with several large mulberry trees and a good number of black raspberry plants. Every summer, we have a great many berries in the yard that have served to make some very delicious pies in the past. This summer, I returned home from school and got the great idea of attempting a family/sibling project of making wine from the berries in our yard. At first, I thought about making just mulberry wine, but I read that mulberries don't make very good wine on their own and found that most recipes called for using grape juice or adding raisins to the recipe. I have also heard that raspberries tend to make very sweet wines on their own. So, it occurred to me to try to make a wine combining the mulberries with the raspberries.

As of now, I haven't found any recipes on the internet for this. Does anybody have any ideas or a recipe to share? Here's the catch - we want all the fruit ingredients to come from our yard. I'd rather not have to use grape or apple juice or add store-bought fruit to what we have. We've always been thrilled by finding wild edibles in the yard and part of the fun of this project is challenging ourselves to use only the berries we pick from the yard. Is this even possible? Any and all input is appreciated! Thanks in advance!

I have made several batches of mullberry wine with only mullberries. It was very good. This is the reciepe I used.

8 pints of mullberry juice
11.5 pints of water
2 teaspoons of yeast nutrient
1 1/2 teaspoons of pectic enzyme
3 campden tablets