WineXpert Winexpert Selection Series

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trubador

Reaction score
Is there any difference in quality or taste in the finished/aged wines between Winexpert's selection original series and selection estate series.

The estate series is on average 30ish dollars more. is it worth it? Anybody make both?

I've made some kits from both series, but I haven't made any of the similar ones. So, for example, I can't say the Lodi Old Vines Zinfandel is better than the generic Zinfandel. I don't think you'll go wrong with either series. You do get a little more juice with the Estate series, but that's not really worth $30 in my book. I haven't had any problems with any of the Winexpert kits, and I've been using them for 4-5 years. The reason I went with the Estate series was to get the blends, or for the specific regions. Some of my friends either prefer certain regional wines, or are from those areas, so it's a nice gesture on my part to pop for the extra $30, which breaks down to about $1/bottle extra.

Both series are good. The main difference is the juice supply. For example on a Selection Series Cabernet you don't really know the source of the juice. It is of the highest quality but is sourced from various sources. On the Estate Series the juice is sourced from specific areas such as Lodi, Woodbridge, and Stag's Leap. I am not positive but I do not believe there is more juice in an Estate Series, I just think it is the quality of the juice. CPFAN can answer that question better than I can as he sells them I believe.