Prickly Pear Fruit Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marilyn1

Junior
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I just went out last weekend and gathered a bunch of prickly pear fruit from the desert around my house. I normally do this to make jelly, but got to thinking that this mightmake a good wine.

Had a couple of musings and wondered if you might have any suggestions...... (or have tried this yourself??)

Prickly Pear fruit has to be boiled in a small amount of water for two hours to get the"juice" stock from them. They can't be crushed because they have a center that houses alarge amount of very tiny, very hard seeds.
The product you get is somewhat watered down compared to grape juice that is pressed. The fruit are also pretty mild in taste. Since I am still new to wine making, wondered how much water to then add to this"juice stock" in a recipe.

Also, wondered whether it might bebetter to makethis as a blend with something else(a Chardonnay maybe) to make a table wine? Or,maybe a dessert wine???? Would be interested in any thoughts you might have---- Thanks
smiley4.gif

A deceased friend of minemade great prickly pear wine. He passed away five years ago, but I can still remember his wine as one of the best fruit wines I've tasted. How many prickly pears flowers do you need to pick to make a gallon of wine, i.e., what volume do you need to get 5-6 lbs? I suppose I should get my butt out this weekend and see if any are left in Texas. Edited by: dfwwino

Hey---- still pretty hot here as I imagine it is in Texas right now. Hard to get the gumpshun' to go outside! Do you remember whether or not your friend added any other fruit to his wine? I have been thinking about trying some other fruit with it.......Wondered if thoseprickly pears mightbe a little light in flavor???
smiley1.gif

Marilyn