Blueberry Wine - Sulfur Smell

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ivvo

Junior
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to making wine at home. Got a wine making kit (fermenter bucket, carboy, hydrometer, tubing, airlocks, etc) for xmas and my first batch, an Island Mist Green Apple Reisling, is in the secondary and seems to be doing well. My second batch, blueberry wine from Vintner's Harvest cans of blueberries is not doing so well, though.

The recipes is from the can label. I used two 96oz cans of Vintner's Harvest blueberries in liquid and doubled the 3gal recipe to make a 6gal batch.

Here's the recipe that I used:
2 96oz cans blueberries/juice (in steeping bag)
12lbs white table sugar (simple sugar)
4 ½ tsp Acid Blend
4 ½ tsp Yeast nutrient
3 tsp Pectic Enzyme
½ tsp tannin
6 crushed Campden tablets
warm water to 6gal mark

Covered fermenter with lid but did not snap down. Added yeast Lalvin K1-V1116 the following day (Jan 12). Covered with lid (again, not snapped down).

The day I pitched the yeast I had the following stats:
S.G. 1.096
Temp @72

Stirred and punched down fruit a.m. next day (Jan 13):
S.G. 1.096
Temp @66
Small amount of foam on top, stirring made this disappear. Moved fermenter to warmer room (approx 74 degrees).

P.M. stir and punch down:
S.G. 1.096
Temp @68.5
No foam but there was a fairly loud fizzing sound.

Today is Jan 14. A.M. stir and punch down:
S.G. 1.090
Temp @69
Still no foam but fizzing sound is audible. This is when I detected a slight sulfur smell :(

Revisited fermenter a couple hours later with my daughter in tow (she has a super smeller lol). I thought I smelled faint sulfur but she said the sulfur smell was very strong. Must is still sizzling with no foam. Lid is loose.