WineXpert Smell, Oxidation or kit smell?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chitownwine

Reaction score
Hey sorry if been answered before but a newbie here and just not just what the smell my wine has started to give off. I am in the clearing stage of a chianti style kit, been in the clearing carboy for about 3 weeks now. After about a week the wine appeared clear and tasted and smelled pretty good. I figured I would leave in there a couple extra weeks which couldn't hurt it and then bottle it per kit instructions. So I took a sample out of carboy today and the wine had a very strong odor, hard to describe but kinda of moldy I guess. After the smell it did taste the same as before, pretty good.

From what I have read on here I topped but the carboy after clearing with a bottle a chianti but the head space is still probably about a good at least 6 inches. Could this smell be caused from oxidation from too much head space?? and if so is it something I can get rid of or that will go away with time in bottle perhaps.

Also I have heard about a kit smell, could this more likely just be a kit smell which can go away with time aging in the bottle??

Thanks so much for reading, I know wordy but just worried I may have messed up my first batch which seemed to be going so well until I took a snif of it tonight.

Any input greatly appreciated.

chitownwine

Welcome aboard!!

Well the headspace is not good - anytime you have that much headspace in your carboy bad things happen.

Did you add proper amounts of k-meta in?

Does it have any kind of a metallic taste to it?

Welcome aboard!