How long? Primary Fermentation.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrWrong

Junior
Reaction score
My first post.

I am making 3 galloons of mango wine according to a recipe I found on Jack Keller dot com.

My concern is that the recipe requests that I leave the fruit and nylon straining bag in the primary pail for 10 days. I am concerned about this time frame. I am afraid it is too long for both the fruit to be in there and for primary fermentation. What are the risks here? Is there another method of gauging the time frame rather than just using a flat 10 day period?

I am at day 1.5 now; S.G. was 1.097 and it already at 1.074. I am new to making wine from scratch but I have never seen must ferment like this. It is going gang busters! I did start the yeast 18 hours ahead of time.

MrWrong

10 days isn't to long I normally leave most of my fruits in primary for 14 days(with all the pulp) and never have had a problem on that part some might say to pull earlier but I see no problem long as it is working good and you keep must pushed down so nothing starts to grow

I leave my fruit in there for 8-10 days all the time. Just make sure you punch it down under the wine 2 times a day to keep everything wet and all will be fine.

So 10 or even 14 days is OK to leave in primary fermentation as long as pulp is submerged. Good to know.

What if fermentation is slowing and S.G. is reaching 1.000 or less?

primary fermentation

this is very little time at all. remember your trying to extract all the flavor components you can and this takes time. for some fruit wines such as blackberry i always leave it in for far longer than this. as others said just punch it down often and all will be fine so long as things are still working.
mike