Anyone here roast his own coffee?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rexmor

Reaction score
Since this seems to be a group of people who like creating their own products, I'm wondering if any of you has discovered the pleasure of roasting his own coffee?

I've been doing it for two years, after reading an article in Newsweek about the practice which gave referrals for places to find green beans and home coffee roasters. The thing about coffee is that it peaks a few days after roasting, and after 2-3 weeks it starts to lose flavor. In fact, it's been stated that it loses up to 40% of flavor after 3-4 weeks.

Anyway, I've thoroughly enjoyed my hobby, and have turned on a few friends. Everyone who's tasted my coffee says it's better than Starbucks, and it's half the price [after you discount the price of a roaster....as little as $150]. Let me know if anyone is interested, and I can give you some sources. My favorite is "sweetmarias.com", which literally has dozens of sources of green beans from all over the world, as well as an line reference materials on beans and roasting.

Last Christmas I "gift roasted" coffee for about a dozen friends. One in the Bay area shared some with her sister, who e mailed me begging me to start roasting and shipping to her. My wife says that I have "coffee groupies".

rexmore,

I love coffee and have always marveled at the roasting process. Had a little coffee shop in Las Cruces, NM by the University that roasted their own beans and that was the "best" coffee I could get (45 minute drive) and I'd stop there every time I was in town. You have peeked my interest! Any info you can provide would be greatly appreciated
smiley1.gif