Wild yeast

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smok1

Reaction score
Hi, im new here, my names dave i am from the Okanagan in canada and i am new to making wine, 7 kits so far and all have turned out great. I have rhubarb, a peach tree and a apricot tree and i want to try my hand at making wine from scratch. My first question i guess is about wild yeast. From the forums i been searching say to kill the wild yeast using k-meta and mixing it in then pitch your store bought yeast ec-1118 or similar. My question is if i add k-meta in my juice to kill any wild yeast whats stopping it from killing my ec-1118? Thanks for any help.

Hi Smok1 - and welcome. That yeast may be tolerant of sulfur dioxide (K-meta) but the fact of the matter is that you are adding sulfur dioxide and sulfur dioxide will evaporate after a few hours which is why after adding K-meta you wait 24 hours and THEN add your chosen yeast. Add just about any yeast (including that champagne yeast) too soon and the K-meta will not have evaporated and so the poor yeast you have pitched (added) will be obliterated. But that said - and I know that many on this forum may disagree with me but EC -1118 is a sledge-hammer and one of its "strengths" is that it rips any flavor and aroma from your fruit. Best use for this yeast is to use it to prime a wine that you have already fermented using a yeast that is more tailored for the fruit you are using, the flavors you are seeking, and the mouthfeel you want...EC-1118 is a killer yeast and it will create an environment in the must that is inhospitable to any other yeast. In short, EC-1118 runs with scissors and does not play nicely with others in the nursery... ::

Last edited: