Mustang Grape Acid help

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buercky

Junior
Reaction score
Hi all,

Im very new to winemaking and was given the opportunity to get some Texas mustang grapes. I started following Kellers recipe and talked to a local winemaking store. So...i didnt get the SG of the grape juice before i started fermentation. Just crushed the grapes and started letting them ferment naturally. which started very well. good bubbling through the must. i then added some lalvin yeast at the suggestion of the store. fermentation went on for about 14 days. racked to carboy 2.5 gal juice 2.5 gal sugar water. (3 gal water/10 lbs sugar). Its been fermenting for 2 weeks and ive been topping with sugar water, an ounce or two every couple days. SG now is 1.02.
I tested the acidity today (not sure if i should have during fermentation) using an LD kit. Here comes my inexperience.... i had to add 12cc's to get it to change to the color specified on the box. Im not sure if that is 12% .12% or what i have to do to reduce the acidity. it does taste acidic.
Two questions....
1: am i on the right track and doing the right fermentation process.
2: what should i do to lower the acidity, do it now, wait, what is my acidity level?

A very big thank you in advance!!