refractometers

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

reefman

Reaction score
Does anyone use a refractometer, and are they specific to the process your are doing?
I have a refractometer for measuring salt water SpG, can it be used to measure wine as well, or do I need to purchase another?

I am no expert but I would guess that a refractometer is a refractometer. It works on the principle that light is bent (refracted) by water in a very consistent and measurable way and that if you add anything to the water (sugar OR salt , for example) then the light will be bent at a different angle. That said, what is the scale your refractometer uses? Presumably the scale of a salinity refractometer is designed to provide the measure of salt in parts per thousand but if it does this by using specific gravity (SG) then SG is SG and the refractometer will have been calibrated to present the angle of refraction as gravity points - in which case a reading of say, 1.050 will be 1.050 whether the substance dissolved in the water is sugar or salt... If , however, refractometers that are used to measure the salinity of water use a different scale than specific gravity then disregard my comment. (I am assuming, however, that SpG is specific gravity (SG)