Cellar Craft CC Showcase walla walla cab merlot

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WinoNick

Junior
Reaction score
Just ordered the cellar craft showcase walla walla Cabernet Merlot kit. Haven't seen any recent posts about it...wondering if it's good as is or should I make any changes to it?

I'm pretty new to wine making. I've made one kit wine and a blackberry wine.

Any feedback on this wine kit would be appreciated.

This kit comes very highly regarded on WMT. I made this kit about 17 mos. ago, and so I will open my first one in about a month. I cannot say if you should make any tweaks, but here is what I did. I swapped out the yeast for ICV-D254, and I added 8 g of FT Rouge tannin in the primary. Sorry I cannot tell you more than that!

Well, I nearly always swap out the yeast from the included EC-1118. It is widely held that EC-1118 is a strong fermenter, but does little to enhance the organoleptic properties of the wine. Other yeast strains are reputed to enhance the nose and/or taste in variety of ways. Take a look here: http://morewinemaking.com/public/pdf/wyeastpair.pdf
As for the tannins, it seems to me that kit wines typically lack adequate tannins, which is not surprising since they are more like juice buckets than like whole grapes.

I made that kit several times. First time it was by the book and it turned out to be one of the best kits hands down for me. Even better than most of the Limited Release kits out. If your just starting out in the Hobby/Obsession, do not think you have to tweak it for it to be good. It will be awesome made just as is.

Just ordered the cellar craft showcase walla walla Cabernet Merlot kit. Haven't seen any recent posts about it...wondering if it's good as is or should I make any changes to it?

I'm pretty new to wine making. I've made one kit wine and a blackberry wine.