Jelly Palm Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Guapo

Reaction score
A Newbie here. I can't seem to find a recipe for Jelly Palm Wine. There
are lots of "Jelly" recipe's online, but none for wine. So, I decided
to wing it. Last fall I picked some fruits from my palm tree. I would
welcome any comments about what I should do, shouldn't have done, etc
with this recipe. Thanks In Advance Here's what I did:

Clark's Jelly Palm Wine

for three gallons

Began 11/7/09

9 1/4 lbs. Jelly Palm Fruit, picked, washed, frozen, thawed and crushed
and added to mesh bag.
Water to 3 gal. mark
3 crushed campden tablets
2 1/2 tsp pectic enzyme
3 tsp nutrient
3/4 tsp tannin (grape)
1 tsp yeast energizer
13 1/2 cups sugar (brought S.G. to 1.80
3 tbsp Acid Blend (brought to .65)

11/8/09 tossed 1 pkg Lalvin 71B-1122

11/11/09 No fermentation
added energizer and nutrient and tossed Cote des Blancs
and whoa Nelly! Began an active fermentation.

11/13/09 Sg @ 1.45 in AM, and at 1.25 in PM. Racked (thru filter funnel) to carboy
Lots of junk to clear. Lees, pectin

12/23/09 Racked and added some Sparkaloid as there was so much stuff
clouding the wine. Looked like a very pulpy orange juice.

12/27/09 Degassed and added a tad more sparkaloid. Nearly clear now.
Putrid smell emanating from carboy during racking.

1/1/10 Very clear, smell is almost gone. Real aroma of fruit begining.
Pretty clear color, Golden Orange.

***** Update****03/13/2011

This wine is remarkable (IMHO) It does need to age in bottle a full year.

20100102_005301_palmpindo01.jpg
20100102_005116_771687-Jelly-pa.jpg

Pindo Palm Fruits (Jelly Palm)

I have never heard of this stuff Guapo.

Have you tasted a finished wine using it?